Real life.

I miss waking up in a strange bed with ten other people in the same room. I miss rooting through a backpack and packing cubes. I miss walking out on to the street with no idea where I’m going. I miss hearing Spanish and Croatian and Hungarian and German and French. I miss using my hands and eyes to communicate. I miss traveling. And I’ve only been home three days.

Now that my ten blissful weeks in Europe are over, real life has set in. Moving to a new country ten days after arriving home meant I needed to pack, sort out financials and see my doctors in a very short amount of time. I prepared myself for these ten days but, now that everything is happening, it seems like a lot more than I remember. Tack on the factย that I am trying to see all my friends before I leave for the next three years and my schedule is basically a smorgasbord ofย chaos after chaos.

I really feel like I’m “adult-ing” in these ten days and though it’s a lot to handle, it also means I’m getting where I want. By the end of the month, I’ll be in Ireland starting brand new classes and meeting the other people in my course. So life seems a little crazy. At the end of the day though, I wouldn’t want to be doing anything else. Real life is coming. And I’m excited.

M xx

Leave a Reply

