Why I Don’t Want to Have Children

TIME

What I want is to be happy.

I’m often told that I’d make a good mother. Depending on my relationship with the person making this wildly incorrect statement, I have one of two reactions: either a small, insincere smile and a “mmmm” response that does not invite further discussion or a hearty laugh followed by a firm “No.”

Don’t get me wrong: I love kids. They’re hilarious, they’re adorable, and I (mostly) enjoy spending time with them. But without a doubt, I do not want them. And here’s why.

I don’t want to worry about diaper rash and “tummy time” and I don’t want to know what colic is.

I don’t want to put a kid on a kindergarten waiting list and I don’t want to decide between public and private education. I don’t want to coordinate basketball practice drop-off with ballet lessons pick-up, I don’t want to help with…

View original post 807 more words

One thought on “Why I Don’t Want to Have Children

  1. Fucking agreed! Only I sincerely dislike children I find them rather annoying and almost in the way…however I would rather know that I don’t want children then to have them and not pay attention to them

Leave a Reply

