Pure ecstasy.

There are so many English words in the dictionary for excitement: elation, euphoria, delight, joy, jubilation, exultation, rapture… I could keep going. The word that feels right for this feeling though is ecstasy. Pure, unadulterated ecstasy.

For the past year, I have been floundering. There have been times that I have wondered what I’m doing. Times that I have hated myself for not trying harder in school. Moments that have made me cringe at myself. But today. Oh, today. Today is a good day.

Today I was offered one of 12-14 places in a Doctorate in Counselling Psychology course at Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland. Today I have a future. Today I’m not cringing at myself – I am proud to be me.

Ecstasy seems like the proper term because what I’m feeling right now must be drug-induced. I have never felt so high in my life! For once in my life, everything feels right and I feel like I can conquer the world. Things are happening and dreams are coming true and I am on a frickin’ HIGH.

Forgive me if I spend the next week with the biggest smile plastered across my face, jumping up and down like a lunatic. But I’m happy. Oh I am HAPPY.

Leave a Reply

