This has been a rant. Or an opinion.

I’ve got a lot of pet peeves. From someone leaving toothpaste in the sink to dirty laundry on the floor to people standing in middle of a crowded hallway. In general, my pet peeves have to do with others’ faults or decisions. I mean, if I see that after I’ve spit out my toothpaste, a clump lies in the sink, I will wash it down. I almost never leave laundry on my floor (although there have been occasions simply because I get home late and am too lazy to walk the 4 steps to the laundry basket). It always seems to be other people, though.

Now that I think about it, people might be one of my pet peeves. People can be kind and caring and do the right things but, they can also be awful, wretched beings that annoy me to no end. One of the most annoying things about people is how quickly they can make you lose respect for them.

This post in particular isn’t about people in general but, rather about a few particular friends of mine. Have you ever had the utmost respect for someone because they always seem to make the right choices, they are genuinely great people who care about you and listen to you and they are intelligent and witty, etc etc.? Then they do one thing and it is something so big that all of a sudden, all that respect you had for them just seems to fly away? 

This has been happening to me a lot lately. Don’t get me wrong, I still love these people. They are still the great people they always have been in my life. They just don’t have the same level of respect now that they earned from me from years ago. See these such people have made such a monumentally stupid decision that I can’t help but wonder if they’ve been whacked across the head with a shovel. Really really hard.

Obviously I won’t name names or point out specific situations. I will however, say this. If you think you are one of these people, do something to earn back my respect. I love you but, without respect, I can’t really love you as much as I would otherwise. Though this may seem horrible, it’s just how I function. Feel free to cut me out of your life if you feel like this isn’t fair but, I won’t weep. You see, I’ve already lost all respect for you.

Leave a Reply

