I used to read.

I used to read. All the time. There always used to be piles of books on my nightstand. Fairy tales, murder mystery, love stories, teen fiction, classics like Pride and Prejudice, fantasy. Sometimes I would read multiple books at once. I was always eager to read new stories. To explore new worlds. To go on adventures with people like Harry Potter and Nancy Drew. Going to the library was the best thing in the world. 

I don’t read any more. Not like I used to anyway. A book here and there. But now I look at my nightstand and I see textbooks and math prep manuals. I see an iPod. In my bookshelves I see movies and television box sets. I have maybe 20 books with me in total. Maybe not even. 

I used to read.

Leave a Reply

