It’s almost over!

We are so close, friends. Lent ends tomorrow. It has been a long 40 days, I can tell you that much. At the beginning of the Lenten season, I blogged about what I was giving up so, let’s see how well I fared this year.

Giving up my snooze button: I may have cheated a bit on this one, I’m still not sure whether or not it counts as cheating or not. You tell me. Basically, instead of using my snooze button, I set multiple alarms. One for half an hour before I actually needed to wake up and two others within 5 minutes of each other for when I actually needed to start my day. I didn’t hit snooze once for the forty days but I did sleep through almost every single one of those first alarms and maybe even some of the second and third ones (ack!). Successful or not? I might have to say not on this one… oops.

Writing a letter every day to someone who has had a significant impact on my life: Well I can tell you for sure that this one was a big fail. I managed to write one letter and pray for that person. That was one day one. I then proceeded to put them off and forget until voilà, here we are with no letters in hand. That’s strike two.

Pray every night: Maybe I’m just not very good at this Lent thing because… again we have another failure. I did pray more often than I normally do though. In all honesty, this in itself is a horrible life accomplishment because I should be praying every night anyway but, for Lenten purposes I’d call this semi-successful.

Last but not least: I didn’t actually write this one out but I promised that I would keep track of my spendings during Lent and match however much I spent to donate to a charity of my choice. Turns out I’m quite poor so this wasn’t really a feasible option if I wanted to eat. I did however, donate a small amount to the UTM Style and Profyle show which gave its proceeds to Cystic Fibrosis. I also bought a homeless man a subway sandwich yesterday on a whim because he really seemed to need it. He was very sweet.  He said thank you and God Bless and went on his way without bothering anybody else for money.

So maybe I didn’t do everything properly and to a tee but I still have to say I’m pretty happy with myself with what I did manage to do this Lent. Maybe I’ll have better luck next year.

For now, have a wonderful long weekend and go to church! 

Leave a Reply

