Imagination.

Imagine yourself in a world where that one big regret could be changed.  It never happened and in this moment right now, it could happen all over again.  A big decision about school, family, friends – any life choice you can think of.  Would you take that chance to change your current life?  Is that one big regret defining who you are today?  Think about it.

I do it myself a lot of the time.  I’m not one of those people that says I have no regrets because, let me tell you, I have plenty.  Decisions I made about lying, about choosing friends, about school, about my majors, about trying things I shouldn’t have or not trying things I should have… literally about everything.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy life.  I stand by my decisions for the most part but, there’s always one nagging thing on the back of my mind before I go to bed.  It will be different on different days but, one regret always crops up.

Maybe I dwell on them.  These decisions that I think shaped who I am today.  To be honest, I couldn’t even tell you if my decisions shaped who I am today.  I don’t really know what shapes who we are.  I guess a little bit of everyone and everything that happens in our lives constantly changes us but, there isn’t one big thing that I could pinpoint.

I digress.  Just imagine living in the same world you are now except you can change that one thing.  You can make a different decision.  Would you do it?  I think I might.

Leave a Reply

