Bob’s your uncle, Fanny’s your aunt.

Anglophile: a person who is fond of English culture or, more broadly, British culture, according to the ever lovely Wikipedia.

I’ve got a friend from Manchester who tells me all the time that I’m an Anglophile.  After examining my lifestyle and all the things I love, I have to say I agree.  During Spring Break in grade 10, I went on a school trip to Paris, London and Barcelona.  

First things first, if you’ve never been to Europe, you just need to know one thing: everything about Europe is better than North America.  The food, the people, the culture, the sights, the shops, the size of the countries – I literally mean EVERYTHING.  Secondly, if you’ve been to Paris and don’t want to live in the city, there is something extremely wrong with you.  Forget the language barrier.  Learn French and move to Paris.  Three; Barcelona might be one of the most beautiful cities you’ll ever visit so please, do yourself a favour and go appreciate it.  Plus, Spanish culture is awesome.  Last but not least, London.  The cockney city of the United Kingdom (or so my friend says).  The typical English city everybody thinks of when they think about Britain.  To be honest, it is pretty perfect to a North American citizen.  It was this trip that made me fall in love with Britain and British culture.  Well, that and Harry Potter.

I thought I’d just make a cheeky list of British things that I love (see what I did there, using the word cheeky?):
-words: ace, bollocks, twat, Bob’s your uncle, shattered, jumper, sweets, knackered, football (it just makes more sense), etc.
-tea: a good Earl Grey gets me through any and every day, English Breakfast is also quite nice
Downton Abbey and Skins: need I say more?
-fashion: I’d compare it to hipsters in North America but, better in every way.  
-the Royal Family: let’s be serious, who doesn’t love good old Queen Elizabeth or the beloved, ever naked Harry? This also includes Buckingham Palace
-artists: Ben Howard, The Kooks, One Direction, Jessie J, Ed Sheeran, Benjamin Francis Leftwich, Leona Lewis and so so so many more talented people (if you don’t know some of them, check them out on YouTube!)
-YouTubers: Charlie McDonnell, Jack and Finn Harries, Sam Pepper, Marcus Butler, Bertie Gilbert (who also played Scorpius Malfoy in Deathly Hallows Part 2), Oli White. I’m very aware that they are all male but, they’re quite entertaining. I’m also probably missing a few.
-Actors: Emma Watson, Tom Felton, Gary Oldman, Alan Rickman, Maggie Smith, Robert Pattinson, Michael Caine, Colin Firth, Jude Law, Kiera Knightly, Helena Bonham Carter… and I can keep going forever
-random things: Double decker buses, the British flag, ACCENTS, the fact that you can buy liquor at your general store, driving on the other side of the road (somehow it makes me feel safer), THEIR BLUNT SENSE OF HUMOUR, Keep Calm and Carry On, telephone booths, bangers and mash, the fact that their typical meals all consist of some sort of meat, High Tea, etc etc etc.

That’s my non-extensive list.  On a final note, I realize that loving everything and anything British doesn’t particularly mean much but, I was told by my British friend once that I would fit in perfectly in the UK so BAM!  I should be British.

 

One thought on “Bob’s your uncle, Fanny’s your aunt.

  1. I would love to know what the equivalent of “Bob’s your Uncle” is in French? In London people tend to mix it up a bit for the comedic effect, “Bob’s your Auntie” and then cross their eyes – don’t know why but as a Canadian living in London, it is just one of those things you notice.

Leave a Reply

